OFCA Scholarship Committee Report

2018 Award Winners

<u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS</u> Chief Christopher Lyons, Chair EMS Chief Andrew Baillis Chief Geoffrey Cleveland Chief Briant Galgas Lieutenant Thomas Granata Deputy Chief Scott Kujawa

Chief Dennis Lewis Chief Randy Pavlak Captain Robert Pursley Chief Jim Steele Chief Jeffrey Young

The OFCA Scholarship Committee received eleven applications for educational scholarships for 2017. The applicants included:

Assistant Chief William Anderson Firefighter Dominic Chiappone Captain Anthony Coletta Chief Mark Garvin Lieutenant Nicholas Martin Lieutenant David Moore Captain Brian Novotny Chief Russell Thompson Firefighter Scott Tigner Assistant Chief Michael Vatty Platoon Chief Jay Womack Euclid Fire Department Perry Joint Fire District Ashland Division of Fire Palmyra Township Fire Department Lyndhurst Fire Department Pleasant Township Fire Department Streetsboro Fire Department Greeneville Fire Department Norwich Township Fire Department Munson Fire Department Euclid Fire Department

Each candidate's application was copied and sent to committee members for review.

For 2017, the committee had \$20,900 to award made possible by donations from the Dominion Foundation, VFIS, the Southwestern Chiefs' Association, and the OFE Alumni Association.

Award decisions were based on each candidate's educational goals, application content and clarity, overall professionalism, letter of recommendation, and financial need. Preference was given to candidates that were served by Dominion in awarding those scholarships.

Based on the number of requests and the limited funds available, applicants were reviewed and ranked individually by committee members. Each ranking was entered into a spreadsheet and total rankings were averaged to arrive at an overall ranking.

The committee has awarded the following scholarships for 2017:

Chief William Anderson	OFE Class 15	\$3,000
Chief Russell Thompson	B.S. Fire Administration, BGSU	\$3,000
Firefighter Scott Tigner	A.S. Fire Science, Columbus State CC	\$3,000
Captain Brian Novotny	OFE Class 17	\$3,000
Lieutenant Nicholas Martin	OFE Class 17	\$3,000
Assistant Chief Michael Vatty	OFE Class 17	\$3,000
Platoon Chief Jay Womack	OFE Class 17	\$2,900

Total \$20,900

Respectfully Submitted,

W. Lyneer

Chief Christopher Lyons - Chair